In Rhode Island, getting your much needed forklift certification can increase your probability of getting accepted for the job. It also can lead to higher salary and position promotion. The certification can also unlock long lasting employment opportunities. According to BLS, RI is one of the states that provide better wage, forklift operator can expect sa good salary.
If you are lost and do not know where to start, then this article discusses steps and details to help and guide you acquire your forklift certification.
How Can You Get Forklift Certification
If you’re seeking forklift certification to add to your credentials in your CV, then you can follow these steps to obtain your certification.
- Specify what forklift truck you are intending to operate. OSHA states that training must be specific to type of machine the trainees will be driving.
- Enroll for the course at the school. The cost of a 2-day course is ranging from $100 - $200. I strongly suggest NOT to enroll for an online training course because this method cannot provide you much needed skills and proficiency. We've provide you some of forklift training providers in Rhode Island, please refer below.
- Attend the classroom theoretical training. This is the first part of the course that lasts 4-6 hours. At this part, trainer will educate trainees about basic truck controls, driving fundamentals, pre-operational assessment, truck weight limitation, material load computation, pedestrian signs, OSHA rulings, Rhode Island law, safety awareness and cultures, accident video presentation, refueling and recharging procedure, and other topics.
- Pass the written test. The questionnaire is commonly consists of 30 questions. You must answer correctly at 75% of those to pass.
- Attend the trainer’s practical training and evaluation. In this part, you must employ all your knowledge learned from the written test and classroom lectures in order to be eligible for certification. The trainer will give you set of instructions that you need to accomplish. Instruction include: starting up, maneuvering, loading, stacking, moving of items from one place to the next, pallet arrangement, lifting of materials to height, refueling/recharging, driving in different road surfaces, post-operation check, correct parking.
- If you accomplished all the assigned tasks, the trainer will make your recommendation.
- The trainer/school will print out your forklift certification and license card. The certification indicates details of the training: name of the trainee, date of training, expiration date, trainer’s name, forklift class.
- The forklift certification is valid for three years.
Certification can also be obtained through company-sponsored training on-site. The company will assign or hire a professional trainer to conduct the course. The program should follow OSHA legislation 29 CFR 1910.178.
Forklift Training Schools in Rhode Island That Give Certification
- Environmental XPRT
- Rhode Island T2 Center - 75 Lower College Road, Kingston, RI 02881, (401) 874-2297
- US Forklift Operator Certification – serves all states, (866) 556-USFC (8732)
- IVES Training Group – serves Rhode Island and many states
- CertifyMe – serves all states
- Goodwill Industries of Rhode Island – Providence, (401) 861-2080
- Certified Rescue Courses, LLC
- American Aerial Equipment - One Fields Point Drive, Providence, 855-619-LIFT
What Do You Need To Apply for Forklift Training
- Training schools and employers require job applicants to have high school diplomas
- Trainees must have organizational skills as most of your work involved proper arrangement of materials at the warehouse.
- Trainees must communicate effectively with others. This is very vital when working in real warehouse condition, especially when working in very tight spaces, in order to avoid mishaps, accidents and material damage.
- Must behave professionally because driving the machinery like forklift is no joke, it can cause fatal accident or serious injury when improperly handled.
- Trainee must be in very good health condition. You will be subjected to physically demanding and tiring assignment for long hours, thus it demands your vigor at work.
- Must wear PPEs during the duration of the course.
Salary Expectation of Certified Forklift Operator
A certified forklift driver employed in Rhode Island can expect a higher salary compared to other states, he can earn as much as $17.33 per hour or when converted that is $36,050 per year. In Connecticut, an operator receives slightly lower wage.
The BLS predicted that demand for forklift operators and other heavy equipment drivers in Rhode Island will increase by 12% between the year 2012-2020.
If you have great interest to enter this vocation, you can anticipate better long-term employment, as factories and businesses will continue to hire certified and talented individuals like you to drive their heavy machineries.
If you have questions, complaints, concerns about workers’ occupational health and safety standards, wage-related benefits, and forklift certification, you can contact these offices:
RI Department of Labor and Training
Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety
1511 Pontiac Avenue - Building 70 - P.O. BOX 20247
Cranston, RI 02920-0943
Rhode Island OSHA
380 Westminster Mall, Room 543
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
With the above tutorial on acquiring forklift certification, it certainly very easy now for you to make an educated choice on how to become a certified forklift operator.
Cities of RI
Bristol County, Barrington, Warren, Kent County, Coventry, East Greenwich, Warwick, West Greenwich, West Warwick, Newport County, Jamestown, Little Compton, Middletown, Portsmouth, Tiverton, Providence County, Burrillville, Central Falls, Cranston, Cumberland, East Providence, Foster, Glocester, Johnston, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield, Pawtucket, Scituate, Smithfield, Woonsocket, Washington County, Charlestown, Exeter, Hopkinton, Narragansett, New Shoreham, North Kingstown, Richmond, South Kingstown, Westerly