In Kansas, the pay for forklift operators is good pay. An operator working In Kansas City can make as much as $34,700 per year.
The demand for your skill will never cease. The Employers will always be on the lookout for qualified people like you.
But what if you do not have the qualification needed in pursuing a career as a forklift operator? this is why we came up with this guide to help you.
Keep reading to start your certification process.
How to Take Forklift Training
- If an individual is currently employed, the employer is the one responsible for implementing training course to forklift operators regularly. The employer may assign an OSHA accredited trainer and put up a facility dedicated to the training.
- An inexperienced individual looking for a vocation in forklift driving can attain his certification in training schools or centers (listed below). The type of training he needs to receive should be comprehensive, he must take the classroom discussions and actual forklift driving. If you already an experienced individual and you only need a formal training, you can take your certification in colleges and centers as well.
- The forklift training has three important stages: the formal education (classroom lecture), practical training (hands-on driving) and evaluation (trainer's assessment). The trainees must complete all three to become certified. During the course, the trainees will learn safe operation methods, proper material loading, and unloading practices, transporting of hazardous goods, operating in the narrow aisle or tight spaces, accident prevention and response, principles of maintaining inventory and warehouse stocking.
- Each forklift operator must be trained in accordance with the type of truck he operates. If he switches assignment, the operator must be certified first to drive that forklift before can will be allowed to commence work.
- The certification will last for three after the initial training. Though there are instances that contribute to retraining such as engagement in near misses and property damage incident, involvement in an accident, if the operator is observed lacking skill and knowledge, and if the operator is seen unruly.
The employer could be fined up to $10,000 for each operator found untrained. This fine could increase in the coming years to refrain employers from allowing operators to work without proper training.
If you are an individual looking for ways to get certified, take time to READ these vital subjects to get your certification:
- How Long is the Training to Complete?
- Is Online Training Suits You?
- When Do You Need Forklift Retraining/Refresher Course?
- What Are Your Work Responsibilities and Description?
- How to Become Fully Certified to Operate the Truck?
- Where Can You Take the Forklift Training?
- Salary of Forklift Operator by State and City
- What are the Requirements For Taking the Training?
For employers who seeking forklift training for operators, READ these:
- How to Provide Cost-Effective Training to Save Money?
- It is Your Obligation to Provide Training for Your Workers
- How are Operators Being Trained to be OSHA Certified?
- Workers are Injured at Work, Are You Liable?
Forklift Training Requirements
- Individual must not be a minor, 18 years old is the legal age to take the training.
- Must possess high school diploma
- Can present an identification
- Can communicate with others very well
- Wear PPE during the course
Steps Taking the Training for Beginners
- Select a school or training providers in your area (listed below).
- Select what type of training you need, you must know that training should be specific to the machine you’ll be driving. (e.g.: powered pallet jack, counter-balance forklift and reach truck).
- Enroll for the course.
- Attend the formal training and pass the written exam. Actual forklift operation follows, the designated trainer will grade you how competent you are during this course. The training could last for several days and cost several hundreds of dollar.
- If you’ve finished and trainer satisfied with your performance, you will be given a certificate of training completion and forklift license card.
- The license is valid for three years. It is your ticket to get hired by an employer.
Schools that Provide Forklift License in Kansas
You can search their websites and addresses online to find the best suitable location for you.
- Kansas City Kansas Community College - 7250 State Ave, Kansas City, +1 913-334-1100
- Certify Me - covers nationwide
- Ives Training Group Kansas
- Johnson County Community College - 12345 College Blvd, Overland Park, +1 913-469-8500
- US Forklift Certification - (866) 556-USFC (8732)
- Kansas Forklift University - 888-674-9992
- Wise Safety and Environmental - 16210 West 110th Street, Lenexa, KS 66219, 913-492-9444
- Liberal Chamber of Commerce - 4 Rock Island Rd, Liberal, +1 620-624-3855
- Hutchinson Community College - 1300 North Plum, Hutchinson, +1 620-665-3500
- Trinity Sales & Rentals - 2225 S West St, Wichita, (316) 512-9284
- Crown Lift Trucks - 2113 S West St, Wichita, (316) 462-9192
- Allied Staffing (training and job placement) - 10901 West 84th Terrace Ste 100, Lenexa, (913) 253-7000
- Kansas Safety Training Center, Inc. - 6891 S Broadway Street Haysville, (316) 768-7608
- Kansas Forklift Inc - 1750 W. Harry St, Wichita, 316-262-1426 / 1-800-432-5629
- Forklift University - service many other states, Call (888) 674-9992
- Hutchinson Community College - 1300 North Plum, Hutchinson, 620-665-3500
- Berry Material Handling - Wichita, 800-333-6576
Who Can Provide Forklift Training
Only those trainers who successfully completed the OSHA Train the Trainer program can certify operators. These trainers have acquired the necessary knowledge and lots of experience.
Accredited trainers can conduct competency assessment for the new operator, refresher or certification course for those operators involved in accidents or near misses or those unruly operators.
These trainers can be directly connected with an employer or provided by the training schools. They can be hired by an employer to conduct the training on-site or can be contracted to conduct training at the trainer’s location.
Salary of Operators
The average salary for forklift operators in Kansas is $32,000-$34,000, depending on where you are in Kansas. In Montana, the wage is much lower.
From the latest January 02, 2018 report of Salary.com, here are the towns and cities of Kansas that have high wages:
$33,627 - Hutchinson
$34,721 - Kansas City
$33,557 - Lawrence
$34,615 - Lenexa
$32,639 - Manhattan
$34,545 - Olathe
$34,615 - Overland Park
$33,627 - Salina
$34,615 - Shawnee
$32,992 - Topeka
$33,980 - Wichita
How much does forklift operator make? READ this:
For more information, you can visit local OSHA office regarding licensing procedures or if you need details about health and safety, wage standards, and related matters, you can visit Kansas DOL for verification.
Kansas Department of Labor
401 SW Topeka Blvd, Topeka, KS 66603, United States
Wichita Area Office
100 N Broadway, Suite 470
Wichita, KS 67202
US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Other Cities of KS
Overland Park, Kansas City, Olathe, Topeka, Lawrence, Shawnee, Manhattan, Lenexa, Salina, Hutchinson, Leavenworth, Leawood, Dodge City, Garden City, Junction City, Emporia, Derby, Prairie Village, Hays, Liberal, Gardner, Pittsburg, Newton, Great Bend, McPherson, El Dorado, Ottawa, Winfield, Arkansas City, Andover, Lansing, Merriam, Haysville, Atchison, Parsons, Coffeyville, Mission, Chanute, Independence, Augusta, Wellington, Fort Scott, Park City, Bonner Springs, Valley Center, Pratt , Bel Aire, Roeland Park, Abilene, Mulvane, Ulysses, Eudora, De Soto, Spring Hill, Paola, Iola, Colby, Concordia, Tonganoxie